Disability

So something happens to me today and the last few days really that I would like to share with you guys, if not for me, but to raise awareness for others. You all know of my mental illnesses but I also have a physical disability called Hypermobility Syndrome. It’s basically means I have bad joints to put it simply and doing simply tasks like carrying a hand bag causes me agony! 

Anyway, quite recently, it has been getting worse, I’ve been struggling at work and it’s been getting me down, it makes me feel hopeless and weak. The worst thing I think is the way people treat you once they know. As soon as I tell people or say how much I’m struggling, I’m treated differently, like I’m fragile and about to break, like I’m a baby or unable to function alone. And whilst sometimes that is true and I do need that extra support, it makes me feel weak, and belittled. I’m not sure what I wanted to come out of this post, I guess just writing it down helps me get out my thoughts and feelings… But I guess what I’m also trying to say is if someone opens up like that and talks about their disability, take it in, talk to them about it, don’t assume things and treat them different, ask if they’re in need of support, but don’t talk to them differently. I don’t know, I hope this helps? Next blog post will make more sense!! Aha! 

2 thoughts on “Disability

  1. It is a difficult bridge to cross. I, too, have a physical disability, and I need help from family, friends, and strangers. For example, if I encounter a door without a handicap button, I need to wait until someone opens the door for me.

    Neurotypical people have a hard time understanding how to bridge the gap. We, too, have trouble expressing how we want to connect with others. We need help, but we don’t want to be treated as incapable. And, sometimes, our needs change.

    Over time, our family and friends will begin to understand. Hopefully, co-workers will also figure it out. Strangers will probably not unless they have had an experience with a handicapped person.

    Keep writing. It will help others and yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, what you say is true and extremely helpful! So thank you! It honestly means the world to me!! 🙂 Comments like these help me to keep writing and I really hope I’m helping others, I know it’s helping me! It’s hard to know what I want like you say, I don’t want to be treated differently or seen differently but I do understand I need that extra support too! Thank you so much for your words, they’ve helped a great deal!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment